Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Being Who We Are

Arriving at the right gate to the Original Self

When people take up the practice of zen, it is not always a matter of practicing Buddhist religion. Many of us feel that something is missing that has nothing to do with any idea of a deity, or a companion, or anything else. Except our original selves.

There are a lot of discussions about what the Buddhist concept of “Original Self” really is. The ideas are part of what can make Buddhism seem convoluted to newcomers. But that state of being is inexpressible. Most language fails to put across many of the ideas introduced by Siddhartha Gautama and his followers.

But this song, written and sung by my friend Dikran Tulaine, sums up the only thing I look for as an original self. Simply because I can’t understand it in any other way. At least not yet. For me, original self is when I feel: “I don’t seem something I’m not.”

I have finally reached that point.

This brings me to a place where I feel focused in how to go forward for the rest of my life. And with the work I have begun here, in Small Stone Zen. A simpler life, day by day. Creating things that resonate with others, that can be found useful, not just interesting. The gate I have always looked for. Home.

At the basic level, zen is simply meditative practice, done every day. It is not restricted to sitting in a lotus position, in silence, for long periods of time. It is not restricted to Buddhists, though they are the ones who gave zen to the world. It is a state that can be attained in many ways. It is practicing life, every moment. Not just a welcome rest on a cushion. Though that idea of sitting practice should never be forgotten.

We are made to sit just as much as we are made to do anything else we do. Things Buddhism teaches in the forms of precepts. But the concept of any precept given is simple. If we do all that we can do to think, act, and communicate with compassion, consideration, contemplation, generosity, practice, responsibility, sincerity, and wisdom, we love life. And it shows. If we fail to do that at times, we are human. We are learning lessons in living.

Keep learning.


Tongo Ni: Small Stone Zen is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Tongo Ni: Small Stone Zen
Small Stone Zen Podcast
A guide for zen in its most basic form, relying on the original ideas of Siddhartha Gautama, as he became Buddha.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sana Sparks
Recent Episodes