Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Life: The Blossom in the Night

Impermanent life is as delicate as a night blooming flower

I once had a cereus plant to tend. Cereus flowers bloom at night, for only one night. They never linger. They are their best close to midnight, full of scent. Then they begin to slowly fade. I would pay as much attention to the plant as I could, waiting for the sign of a new bloom. But as time and age and illness changed me, I would forget, and sometimes find a wilting blossom the next morning.

I learned to pay better attention to the plant’s whole life. I also learned, finally, to pay attention to my own whole life. And the life around me. If we ignore the unpleasant things, the difficult things, we lose sight of good things as well. Darkness and light balance one another. If we keep to the middle path, we more easily see how both aspects affect our experiences, and those of others. Even when life seems to fade, we continue to grow. And learn.

Enjoy this moment of meditation. The music I’ve made for you is a freesong called Accepting Peace. Nirvana is the state of peace.

0 Comments
Tongo Ni: Small Stone Zen
Tongo Ni: Small Stone Zen
Authors
Sana Sparks